Food Frenzy

Holy Guacomole

IMG_0914

This is the decade where we’ve all gone green. And not the preventative measures towards global warming or cutting back on shower time. No this is something far more achievable. It’s the era of green smoothies and the phenomenon that celebrates avocado on anything and everything- breakfast, lunch or dinner. Now that I have eaten almost 22 years of food and adapt to food trends of all colors, I am ready to embrace my undying love for greens and avocados in particular.

But before we dive into the “superfood’s” prevalence and impact on my life, I must give a brief history of several staples that I proudly consumed at the ages of 8, 14 and every year in between.  So basically I was raised on peanut butter and it didn’t take long before I mastered the precise ratio of a perfect pb&j. I even considered writing a letter to Jiff informing them of my loyalty to their brand and the impact it had on my young lunchbox days. Then jelly was replaced by the variety of creative complements to peanut butter including but not limited to, bananas, apples, honey & cinnamon and marshmallow fluff (a crowd favorite).

This tradition continued for the majority of my adolescent years until the inevitable day came that I realized I was considerably “uncool” for still devouring my favorite pastime. Then came hummus with veggies. A little anticlimactic when lunch period arrived but it was “in” and I learned to love it (almost as much).

So lets fast forward through the sporadic cravings of early college and we arrive at the current trend you have most certainly been introduced to, avocados.

To give this phenomenon a number, I asked our sorority chef the amount of avocados we go through each week. (Keep in mind this doesn’t usually include dinner and meals are offered Monday through Friday.) He claims we consume on average anywhere from 96 to 144 avocados each week depending on the meals served! I could barely stomach the idea of that but I guess I have since I have my daily share every lunch. Avocado has made our lives a little greener as we have introduced the fruit to toast, salads, baking, face masks and even our berry smoothies. It offers a laundry list of health benefits for happy and healthy hearts. The amount of potassium, protein and monounsaturated fats in each explains our healthy addiction to go green.

Because I am an advocate for this trend, I want to share a favorite recipe of mine that will make your day a little brighter.

Its gluten and guilt free for any occasion, including the Super Bowl!

Guacamole Recipe: 

  • 3-4 Avocados
  • Zesty Italian dressing
  • Red Onion
  • Black Pepper
  • Dash of Garlic Salt
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Fresh Lime

Peel avocados, and place in bowl. Chop onions and add to bowl. Use your creative
taste buds and add ingredients a little at a time until it’s reached full
potential flavor. Refrigerate.

*** Best paired with Tostitos Scoops and hungry friends!

2 thoughts on “Holy Guacomole

Leave a Reply

